Independence Man atop the RI State House

Latest Alerts & Guidance

Back to School

We know that vaccination, masking, physical distancing, testing, and keeping kids home when they have symptoms can help protect students and staff in Pre K-12 schools from COVID-19. 

COVID-19 testing for students and staff is available at test sites in your community and in Pre K-12 schools. Contact your child’s school or district if you have specific questions about their testing programs, guidance, or protocols. Learn more at covid.ri.gov/PreK12testing. 

For more information about the return to 100% in-person learning in Rhode Island’s schools, visit back2schoolri.com. 

COVID-19 Treatment

Rhode Island has a doctor-recommended treatment for COVID-19 that's fast, easy, and highly effective. If you test positive for COVID-19, are age 12 or older, started having mild to moderate symptoms in the last 10 days, and are at high risk for progressing to severe disease, immediately call your healthcare provider and ask about treatment. The earlier you start treatment, the more effective it is.

 

 

 

The Delta Variant

Most COVID-19 cases in Rhode Island are now the Delta variant (B.1.617.2) of the virus. The Delta variant is much more aggressive than other variants we’ve seen because it spreads more easily and more quickly and may cause more serious illness. Some vaccinated people can get the Delta variant of COVID-19, but most hospitalizations and deaths continue to be among the unvaccinated.

Getting vaccinated, wearing a mask, and weekly testing are more important than ever to stop the Delta variant from spreading and to protect the progress we’ve made. Learn more at covid.ri.gov/variants.

Masking Requirements

Whether or not you're vaccinated, you're still required to wear a mask in some settings

RIDOH recommends wearing a mask indoors near anyone you don't live with. If you're fully vaccinated, this is only when community spread is substantial or high.

RIDOH also recommends wearing a mask outdoors in crowded places or during activities where you’re near people who are not fully vaccinated. Close contact means you’ve been within six feet of someone with COVID-19 for a total of 15 minutes or more in a 24-hour period.

 

COVID-19 Vaccination Requirement

All workers in RIDOH-licensed healthcare facilities and other practicing health care providers are required to get vaccinated against COVID-19 by October 1, 2021.

All RIDOH-licensed healthcare providers who are not vaccinated by October 1st may be subject to financial penalties and/or suspension/revocation of their license (unless they provide proof of a medical exemption).

If you have a question that is not captured in the current Frequently Asked Questions document, please send us a message. Legal questions may not be answered as facilities and employees should review legal questions internally with their legal counsel. 

COVID-19 Vaccination

Third doses of Pfizer-BioNTech or Moderna COVID-19 vaccine are available to certain Rhode Islanders who are moderately to severely immunocompromised. If you are eligible, you can get your third dose at any of the places where vaccine is currently available. Please see COVID-19 Vaccine FAQs for more information on getting a third dose.

Research shows that about half of the nation’s unvaccinated people would prefer to get vaccinated against COVID-19 at their doctor’s offices. Enroll as a COVID-19 vaccine provider today. Learn more at https://covid.ri.gov/vaxproviders.

If you need a copy of your COVID-19 vaccine record, go to: portal.ri.gov/VaccineRecord.

Rhode Island’s Hard-Hit Community Vaccination Strategy

Many Rhode Islanders living in specific geographies have experienced higher rates of COVID-19 infections, hospitalizations, and deaths throughout the pandemic. Such differences are directly connected to the social conditions in which some communities of color are more likely to live and work every day, and to systems of structural racism and discrimination that have historically undermined the health and well-being of these communities. 

RIDOH believes reaching high vaccination rates across all individuals and communities regardless of ZIP code is key to saving lives and achieving broader population immunity. Learn about Rhode Island's Hard-Hit Community Vaccination Strategy.  

COVID-19 Info Line

Monday – Friday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday – Sunday: 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM

Phone: 401-222-8022
After hours: Call 211

RIDOH.COVID19Questions
Submit COVID-19 Complaint
Information for Healthcare Providers

Press Releases All press releases

All press releases