Relief for Workers

If you need to stay home because of COVID-19, there are resources for you. Please do not go into work if you are sick.

Paid Sick Leave

If you are feeling sick, you must stay home from work. There are several paid sick leave options available.

- The Families First Coronavirus Response Act (FFCRA) requires most employers to provide employees with two weeks (up to 80 hours) of paid sick leave if they are quarantined or experiencing COVID-19 symptoms. For more Information. please visit www.dol.gov/agencies/whd/pandemic/ffcra-employer-paid-leave.
- In Rhode Island, most employees can earn up to 40 hours of sick leave as required under State law. This can be used in addition to the FFCRA leave. For more information, please visit <u>dlt.ri.gov/documents/pdf/ls/HSFWfactsheet.pdf</u>.
- If you don't have paid sick leave through your employer, or if you use up all of your sick time, Pandemic Unemployment Assistance (PUA) is another option. PUA is available to people with COVID-19 or caring for someone with COVID-19 — including self-employed and independent contractors.
- If you don't have symptoms, but are quarantining due to travel or because you may have come into contact with someone who has COVID-19, you still need to stay out of work until you have completed the full quarantine period. You can use FFCRA paid sick leave or PUA while you do so.
- If you're sick, but tested negative for COVID-19, you should still stay out of work until you're symptom-free. In that case, Temporary Disability Insurance (TDI) is another program available. More information is available at <u>dlt.ri.gov/tdi/faq.</u>

Out of Work?

If your place of business closes, or you are directed by your employer to stay home and are not being paid, you may be eligible for regular unemployment insurance (UI) and can apply for benefits through the Department of Labor and Training (DLT) at <u>dlt.ri.gov/ui</u>.

If your claim is related to COVID-19, please indicate that on your application. DLT is waiving the usual seven day waiting period for COVID-19 related claims.

If you are a gig economy worker, contract worker, small business owner, worker for hire, self-employed and are out of work because of COVID-19, you may be eligible for Pandemic Unemployment Assistance (PUA) and can apply at <u>covidemergencyuibenefits.dlt.ri.gov</u>.

CommerceRI.com | 401.521.HELP An official publication of the State of Rhode Island



Unable to Work?

If you are unable to work but your place of work remains open, or if you turn down an offer of employment, you need to have good cause in order to collect benefits. Good cause includes:

- You have tested positive for COVID-19;
- Your doctor recommends you not work because you are high-risk; or
- You are the primary caregiver for someone whose place of care is closed due to COVID-19.

If you meet one of these conditions, you should apply for Pandemic Unemployment Assistance at <u>covidemergencyuibenefits.dlt.ri.gov</u>.

Contact Us

If you have a question about an existing unemployment claim, or would like to file a new claim over the phone, please contact the UI Call center at (401) 415-6772.

The UI Call Center hours are:

- Monday Thursday: 8am 6pm
- Friday: 9am 6pm
- Saturday: 8am 11:30am

General questions can be sent to <u>dlt.covid19@dlt.ri.gov</u>.

Not Eligible for Public Assistance?

If you are not eligible for public benefits because of immigration status, you can receive a \$400 pre-paid, no-fee debit card.

- Households can receive \$400 per eligible adult family member.
- To apply, call or go online at Dorcas International: 401-784-8601; diiri.org/wer1application/
- All information you provide will be kept confidential by the community organization.

Workplace Health and Safety

- The Rhode Island Department of Health (RIDOH) requires employers to follow COVID-19 health and safety guidelines, such as screening for illness and requiring masks.
- For information on the guidelines that apply to your specific place of work, please visit reopeningri.com. You may also contact the RIDOH COVID-19 Hotline at (401) 222-8022.
- If your place of work is not following health and safety requirements, please report this to the Department of Business Regulation (DBR) on their website (<u>dbr.ri.gov</u>) or by calling (401) 889-5550.



Low-cost Health Insurance

If you lost your health coverage through your job, you can sign up for health insurance through HealthSourceRI. For more information, visit <u>www.healthsourceri.com</u> or <u>www.healthsourceri.com/es/</u> or call 1-855-4774.

Other Resources

RIDelivers connects Rhode Islanders currently in quarantine to resources like grocery delivery, food assistance, and pharmacy delivery. <u>RIDelivers.com</u> Call 211 or 401-462-4444 to be connected to additional resources in Rhode Island.

If you lost your job due to COVID-19, EmployRI can tell you about who is hiring in your community. <u>employri.org</u>

An equal opportunity employer/program. Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to individuals with disabilities. Rhode Island Relay Services at 711.

