COVID-19 Citations for Non-Compliance Preventing the spread of COVID-19 among Rhode Islanders is a key public health function during this pandemic. The most effective ways to prevent the spread of COVID-19 are to wear a mask, wash your hands, stay six feet away from other people, and avoid large gatherings. Per Governor Raimondo’s Executive Order 20-90, indoor social gatherings in any public or private place are prohibited from having more than 10 people. As of November 8, a catered event that is inside is prohibited from having more than 25 people. A catered event that is outside is prohibited from having more than 75 people. Exceptions for capacity limits at catered are granted for previously scheduled weddings. Anyone who is not following the social gathering limits defined in the most current Executive Order can be issued a citation from the State Police or the COVID-19 Task Force and fined. Hosts can be fined $500 for hosting a non-compliant event plus $100 per person over the allowed limit. Attendees can be fined $100 for attending a non-compliant social gathering. If you have been given a citation, you must pay the fine within 10 days. You can mail a check or money order to RIDOH’s COVID-19 Compliance Unit, 3 Capitol Hill, Providence, RI 02908 or you can drop off the payment in a lockbox in the lobby of RIDOH’s Cannon Building. Do not send cash. Please include a copy of the citation with your payment. Pursuant to Rhode Island General Laws 42-35, you have the right to an administrative hearing if you dispute the citation. If you wish to request such a hearing, you must do so in writing not later than 10 days after the date of the citation. Such request may be made by mail to the address above or by email to [email protected]. Include a copy of the citation. Failure to request a hearing within 10 days shall constitute waiver of your right to a hearing. Payment of the fine(s) shall also constitute a waiver of your right to a hearing. If you fail to pay the fine or request a hearing as set forth above, RIDOH may take such actions, including, but not limited to, referral to the State of Rhode Island Central Collections Unit.