Travel Information for Residents and Visitors

General Guidance for Travelers

Follow these requirements and recommendations for travelers arriving in Rhode Island to protect your household and lower the chances of catching and spreading COVID-19.

Rhode Island has free COVID-19 screening and vaccination for travelers. More details are available below. 

Travelers must continue to wear a mask in some places, including transportation hubs like airports and stations and on public transportation like planes, buses, trains, and boats. Although Rhode Island no longer requires masks in most settings, Rhode Island residents and visitors must follow state and federal masking laws and regulations. Learn more about Rhode Island's masking guidance and other ways to protect your household.

Variants of COVID-19 are found all over the world. The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) is keeping track of these variants and posts updates to a web page about COVID-19 variants. Getting vaccinated, wearing a mask, and getting tested are more important than ever to stop variants of concern from spreading and to protect the progress we’ve made. Learn more about what Rhode Island is doing to find and track variants of concern in the State. 

 

If you're traveling to Rhode Island from a location within the United States (US) or US territories, you’re not currently required to quarantine or get tested after arrival whether or not you're vaccinated. 

To lower the chances of catching and spreading COVID-19, the Rhode Island Department of Health (RIDOH) recommends all travelers follow quarantine and testing guidance from the CDC:

  • If you’re not yet fully vaccinated, get tested with a viral COVID-19 test 3-5 days after travel and quarantine for a full 7 days after travel.
  • If you’re fully vaccinated or have recovered from COVID-19 in the past 90 days, you do not need to get tested or quarantine after arrival in Rhode Island.
    • You're fully vaccinated if you’ve gotten all recommended doses of a COVID-19 vaccine authorized by the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA) or World Health Organization (WHO) and more than 14 days have passed since the final dose. Learn more about the COVID-19 vaccine. 
    • If you've tested positive for COVID-19 in the past 90 days and completed your isolation period, RIDOH recommends that you carry proof of your positive COVID-19 test result when you travel. The 90-day period starts on the day of symptom onset or the day of your positive test if you were asymptomatic (day 0). You do not need a negative test result to return or travel to Rhode Island. You are also not required to retest or quarantine unless you begin to have or still have symptoms

Always watch for symptoms for 14 days after travel. If you develop symptoms, isolate at home away from others and get tested right away

What to do before you travel to Rhode Island.

The CDC recommends that people do not travel internationally until they are fully vaccinated. 

If you are traveling to the US by plane and are a US citizen, US national, lawful permanent resident, or traveling to the US on an immigrant visa, you are required to show a negative COVID-19 test result or documentation of recovery from COVID-19 before you board your flight. The timing of this test depends on your vaccination status and age. For more information, visit this web page from the CDC.

If you are traveling to the US by plane and are not a US citizen, US national, lawful permanent resident, or traveling to the US on an immigrant visa, you must meet both of the following requirements:

What to do after you arrive in Rhode Island.

If you're traveling to Rhode Island from a location outside the US or US territories, you’re not currently required to quarantine or get tested after arrival whether or not you're vaccinated

To lower the chances of catching and spreading COVID-19, RIDOH recommends all travelers follow quarantine and testing guidance from the CDC:

Always watch for symptoms for 14 days after travel. If you develop symptoms, isolate at home away from others and get tested right away

Free asymptomatic COVID-19 screening is available to all travelers arriving at TF Green Airport. Testing is offered in the first-floor baggage claim area every day from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. You do not need an appointment.  

The COVID-19 testing clinic at TF Green Airport also offers testing options for departing international travelers. The clinic, operated by Doctors Testing Center, can provide test results and documentation to meet the requirements of most airlines and international travel destinations. Expedited travel tests are available for a fee. For more information or to schedule your test, visit doctorstestcenters.com/flyri or call 312-858-7638. 

Rhode Island’s State-run test sites are intended for diagnostic testing and asymptomatic screening onlyIf you are getting tested before or after travel because you have symptoms or would like to participate in COVID-19 screening, you can schedule a free COVID-19 test at any State-run test site. Schedule your test online at portal.ri.gov or by calling 401-222-8022. Health insurance is accepted but not required. 

Results from State-run test sites are not guaranteed to meet testing requirements for travel outside of Rhode Island. If you are getting tested before or after travel because you need test results within a strict timeframe or documentation more detailed than a standard lab report, you may need to be tested elsewhere. Travelers are encouraged to find testing options that can meet the requirements of their destination, layover, or airline.

  • The testing clinic at TF Green Airport offers fee-based services that can meet specific requirements for international travel. Contact your airline or the department of health at your destination if you have questions about their testing requirements. 
  • Some pharmacies or clinics may test travelers. Call first to ask if you can get tested and if there will be a cost associated with testing. For more information about testing options in Rhode Island, visit covid.ri.gov/testing.

Always watch for symptoms for 14 days after travel. If you develop symptoms, isolate at home away from others and get tested right away

COVID-19 vaccination is available to out-of-state travelers visiting Rhode Island. To learn more about how to get a COVID-19 vaccine while you’re in Rhode Island, visit C19vaccineRI.org.

Getting a COVID-19 vaccine is free. Some vaccine providers may charge insurance companies a fee for giving someone the shot, but they will not charge the person being vaccinated. No matter where you are vaccinated, COVID-19 vaccine providers cannot charge you if COVID-19 vaccination is the only service provided.

Health insurance is accepted but not required. No one can be denied vaccination based on healthcare coverage or network. Providers also cannot require additional medical services for you to get vaccinated.

The CDC recommends that people do not travel internationally until they are fully vaccinated. Learn about the different ways to get vaccinated in Rhode Island.

The CDC issues travel health notice levels for many countries to better differentiate severe outbreak situations from areas with sustained but controlled COVID-19 spread. The different levels reflect specific travel advice for vaccinated and unvaccinated people, which are aligned with CDC guidance for international travel. Learn how CDC determines the level for COVID-19 travel health notices.

Check with the health department in the state or country you are traveling to for quarantine guidance and testing requirements.

  • Some locations and airlines require that travelers provide proof of a negative test result taken within 72 hours prior to their arrival. 
  • Some locations and airlines may not accept at-home tests as proof of a negative result. 
  • Since some locations and airlines require a lab report as proof of a negative result, RIDOH recommends travelers schedule a PCR test. The result of this test is usually ready in two days. Make sure you have enough time to get your test result before you travel
  • Rhode Islanders travelling to Hawaii should schedule a COVID-19 test at a location that meets Hawaii’s travel partner criteria. Tests processed through CVS or Walgreens pharmacies meet Hawaii’s requirements. Tests processed through Rhode Island's COVID-19 testing program will not qualify.

The COVID-19 testing clinic at TF Green Airport offers testing options for departing international travelers. The clinic, operated by Doctors Testing Center, can provide test results and documentation to meet the requirements of most airlines and international travel destinations. Expedited travel tests are available for a fee. For more information or to schedule your test, visit doctorstestcenters.com/flyri or call 312-858-7638. 

Rhode Island’s State-run test sites are intended for diagnostic testing and asymptomatic screening onlyIf you are getting tested before or after travel because you have symptoms or would like to participate in COVID-19 screening, you can schedule a free COVID-19 test at a State-run test site

Results from State-run test sites are not guaranteed to meet testing requirements for travel outside of Rhode Island. If you are getting tested before or after travel because you need test results within a strict timeframe or documentation more detailed than a standard lab report, you may need to be tested elsewhere. Travelers are encouraged to find testing options that can meet the requirements of their destination, layover, or airline.

  • The testing clinic at TF Green Airport offers fee-based services that can meet specific requirements for international travel. Contact your airline or the department of health at your destination if you have questions about their testing requirements. 
  • Some pharmacies or clinics may test travelers. Call first to ask if you can get tested and if there will be a cost associated with testing. For more information about testing options in Rhode Island, visit covid.ri.gov/testing.

US Travel requirements have changed - Learn More
Stay safe during travel - COVID-19