Travel Information for Residents and Visitors

General Guidance for Travelers

Follow these requirements and recommendations for travelers arriving in Rhode Island to protect your household and lower the chances of catching and spreading COVID-19.

Although Rhode Island no longer requires masks, Rhode Island residents and visitors must follow federal masking laws and regulations. Travelers must continue to wear a mask in some places, including transportation hubs like airports and stations and on public transportation like planes, buses, trains, and boats. Learn more about Rhode Island's masking guidance and other ways to protect your household.

Variants of COVID-19 are found all over the world. The US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) is keeping track of these variants and posts updates to a web page about COVID-19 variants. Getting vaccinated, wearing a mask, and getting tested are more important than ever to stop variants of concern from spreading and to protect the progress we’ve made. Learn more about what Rhode Island is doing to find and track variants of concern in the State. 

 

If you're traveling to Rhode Island from a location within the United States (US) or US territories, you’re not currently required to quarantine or get tested after arrival whether or not you're vaccinated. 

To lower the chances of catching and spreading COVID-19, the Rhode Island Department of Health (RIDOH) recommends all travelers follow quarantine and testing guidance from the US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC):

Always watch for symptoms for 14 days after travel. If you develop symptoms, isolate at home away from others and get tested right away

If you've tested positive for COVID-19 in the past 90 days and completed your isolation period, RIDOH recommends that you carry proof of your positive COVID-19 test result when you travel. The 90-day period starts on the day of symptom onset or the day of your positive test if you were asymptomatic (day 0). You do not need a negative test result to return or travel to Rhode Island. You are also not required to retest or quarantine unless you begin to have or still have symptoms

The US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) requires all air passengers arriving in the United States (US) from any foreign country to provide a negative COVID-19 test result from no more than 3 days before travel or documentation of recovery from COVID-19 in the past 3 months before boarding a flight to the US.

If you're traveling to Rhode Island from a location outside the US or US territories, you’re not currently required to quarantine or get tested after arrival whether or not you're vaccinated

To lower the chances of catching and spreading COVID-19, the Rhode Island Department of Health (RIDOH) recommends all travelers follow quarantine and testing guidance from the CDC:

Always watch for symptoms for 14 days after travel. If you develop symptoms, isolate at home away from others and get tested right away

CDC updated Travel Health Notice levels for many countries to better differentiate severe outbreak situations from areas with sustained but controlled COVID-19 spread. The adjustments reflect specific travel advice for vaccinated and unvaccinated people, which are aligned with CDC guidance for international travel. Learn how CDC determines the level for COVID-19 Travel Health Notices.

If you've tested positive for COVID-19 in the past 90 days and completed your isolation period, RIDOH recommends that you carry proof of your positive COVID-19 test result when you travel. The 90-day period starts on the day of symptom onset or the day of your positive test if you were asymptomatic (Day 0). You do not need a negative test result to return or travel to Rhode Island. You are also not required to retest or quarantine unless you begin to have or still have symptoms

Returning residents and people visiting Rhode Island can find a place for asymptomatic testing in the list below.

All travelers arriving at and departing from TF Green Airport can get a free rapid COVID-19 test. Rapid testing is available in the baggage claim area on the first floor, seven days a week. You do not need an appointment. Results are ready in 15 minutes.

Always watch for symptoms for 14 days after travel. If you develop symptoms, isolate at home away from others and get tested right away

Testing Sites for Out-of-State Travelers who don't have COVID-19 Symptoms.

The US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) recommends that people do not travel internationally until they are fully vaccinated. 

Check with the health department in the state or country you are traveling to for quarantine guidance and testing requirements.

  • Rhode Islanders planning to travel out of state should be mindful of any testing or quarantine requirements that may be in place at their destination. Some states require that visitors provide proof of a negative test result taken within 72 hours prior to their arrival. 
  • Some states, countries, or airlines may not accept at-home tests as proof of a negative result. 

Rhode Islanders planning to travel to a state that requires a COVID-19 test in order to avoid extended quarantine can schedule a test on portal.ri.gov.

  • Since some states and airlines require a lab report as proof of a negative result, RIDOH recommends travelers schedule a PCR test. The result of this test is usually ready in two days.
  • Rhode Islanders travelling to Hawaii should schedule a COVID-19 test at a Walgreens Pharmacy. Tests processed through Rhode Island's COVID-19 testing program will not qualify, according to Hawaii’s travel partner criteria

For guidance on how to integrate COVID-19 testing into your travel itinerary, review this TRAVEL TIP.

All travelers arriving at and departing from TF Green Airport can get a free rapid COVID-19 test. Rapid testing is available in the baggage claim area on the first floor, seven days a week. You do not need an appointment. Results are ready in 15 minutes.

You will receive an email or text when your COVID-19 test results are ready. Access your results at portal.ri.gov/results.You will be asked to enter your personal information and the date you were tested. You will get an error message if you try to access this portal before your results are ready or if the information you enter does not match the record. You can print or screenshot your test result so you may easily access it during your travels.