Protect Your Household from COVID-19 COVID-19 spreads mainly through close contact with someone who is infected. Close contact means you’ve been within six feet of someone with COVID-19 for a total of 15 minutes or more in a 24-hour period. People who are infected but do not show symptoms can also spread the virus to others. The best way to prevent illness and death is to avoid being exposed to the virus. Fewer cases of COVID-19 means fewer deaths. Follow this guidance to protect your household and lower the chances of catching and spreading COVID-19. If you’re fully vaccinated Rhode Island Masking FAQs Fully vaccinated means you’ve gotten all recommended doses of a COVID-19 vaccine authorized by the United States (US) Food and Drug Administration (FDA) or World Health Organization (WHO) and more than 14 days have passed since the final dose. You can go back to doing most of the things you did before the pandemic. You only need to wear a mask: If a business requires it Indoors in schools and child care settings In healthcare settings like hospitals, doctors’ offices, home-based healthcare, and nursing homes On public transportation like planes, buses, and trains When providing or using paid ground transportation services In transportation hubs like airports and stations In enclosed and semi-enclosed transit stops and waiting areas In homeless shelters In correctional facilities When required by other applicable state or federal laws or regulations If you’ve traveled outside of the US and US territories: You must get tested three days before travel to the US or show documentation of recovery from COVID-19 in the past 90 days The Rhode Island Department of Health still encourages testing five to 10 days after arrival in the US There’s still a chance you might get COVID-19. Watch for symptoms of COVID-19, especially if you’ve been around someone who is sick. If you have symptoms of COVID-19, isolate at home, call your healthcare provider, and get a COVID-19 test. Get treatment if you’re eligible. If you’ve tested positive, ask your doctor right away about MABS. If you have a medical condition or are taking medications that weaken the immune system, talk to your healthcare provider about your activities. You may need to keep protecting yourself from COVID-19 by following the unvaccinated guidance below. If you're not fully vaccinated Get vaccinated. You may get vaccinated if you’re age 12 or older. Setting up an appointment is quick and easy. COVID-19 vaccines are safe, highly effective against serious illness, and reduce the risk of infecting others. Vaccination helps protect against COVID-19 variants by reducing their spread. Learn what changes once you’re fully vaccinated. With COVID-19 variants of concern in Rhode Island, it’s even more important to wear a mask and watch your distance indoors near anyone you don't live with. Outdoors, continue to wear a mask in crowded places or during activities where you are in close contact with other people who are not fully vaccinated. Close contact means you’ve been within six feet of someone with COVID-19 for a total of 15 minutes or more in a 24-hour period. Choose safer activities. Continue to take it outside. If you travel, follow RIDOH’s travel guidance. Get tested every week. Sign up for a free test at portal.ri.gov. If you have symptoms of COVID-19, isolate at home, call your healthcare provider, and get a COVID-19 test. Stay home and apart from others if you have any symptoms, if you may have been exposed to someone with COVID-19, or if you are in quarantine or isolation. Get treatment if you're eligible. If you’ve tested positive for COVID-19, ask your doctor right away about MABS. Remember the three Ws! Wear a mask indoors that’s at least two layers thick and fits snugly but comfortably over your nose, mouth, and chin without any gaps. Wash your hands often with soap and water for at least 20 seconds. Or carry and use hand sanitizer that’s at least 60% alcohol. Watch your distance by staying at least three feet apart indoors from people you don't live with. How will I feel after I get my COVID-19 vaccine? You may experience some symptoms after vaccination. This is normal and these symptoms should go away quickly. Wear the right mask Wear a mask that protects you and your household. Let's talk about transmission of respiratory infectious diseases Learn about contact tracing Contact tracing is an important part of slowing the spread of COVID-19 in Rhode Island. Learn how contact tracing works and what you need to do. Also review the latest quarantine and isolation guidance. Wondering if YOU should be tested for COVID-19?